Published July 27, 2019 | Version v1
Working paper Open

Allan Pettersson: Symphony No. 8


Most of the material of Pettersson’s 8th Symphony is derived from Mozart’s Symphony
No. 41 »Jupiter« and Nielsen’s Symphony No. 5. The philosophy of Pettersson’s music
is determined by Nielsen’s vegetatio and organicism. First part of 8th Symphony describes
music history from origin to decline. A cantus firmus extended to a long cantus is followed
by a concatenation of different polyphonic and homophonic compositional techniques sorted
chronological. Second part is a revolutionary construction of a polyphonic movement in
sonata form. The symphony is the composers manifesto.



Files (3.5 MB)

Name Size Download all
3.5 MB Preview Download