Published November 23, 2021 | Version v1.0
Report Open

Report of TWG Smart Cities: Landscape of Smart Cities Standards

  • 1. IEEE IoT


Project leader:

Project manager:

  • 1. DCU
  • 2. Trust-IT


This Impact report was produced by the 2023, a Coordination and Support Action (CSA) project co-funded by the European Commission within the Research and Innovation Framework Programme, Framework Programme Horizon 2020 (H2020), under grant agreement no. 951972. The information and views set out in this report are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official opinion of the European Commission and may not be held responsible for the use which may be made of the information contained therein. Reproduction is authorised provided the source is acknowledged. 
About 2023
The 2023 Coordination and Support Action project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 - Research and Innovation programme - under grant agreement no. 951972. The project is coordinated by Trust-IT Srl (IT), supported by its partners from the Dublin City University (IE) and AUSTRALO (ES). The content of the present report does not represent the opinion of the European Union, and the European Union is not responsible for any use that might be made of such content.  


Our consortium, formed by Trust-IT as the coordinator, Dublin City University and AUSTRALO Marketing Lab, is grateful to all experts of our 2023 community for their competent work. This booklet is a tangible reflection of your continuous dedication to ICT Standardisation - Thank you! 2023 would also like to thank Thomas Riebe, Project Officer and Senior Expert at DG Connect European Commission, and Emilio Davila-Gonzales, Deputy Director at DG Connect leading Unit F3-Blockchain and Innovation for their leadership and guidance. 

The External Advisory Group (EAG) has given us valuable support and guidance throughout the course of the project, so far. Our appreciation for their effort and commitment goes to Ray Walshe (EAG Chair), Stefan Hallensbellen, Brian McAuliffe, Lindsay Frost, Jens Gayko, Karl Grun, Enrico Scarrone, Marc TavernerThe landscape, Nuria de Lama, Tom de Block, Martin Chapman, Annika Linck, Fergal Finn, Ana Garcia Robles, Stefan Weisgerber, Jochen Friedrich, Antonio Conte, and Stefano Nativi. 

Finally, we would like to thank all EUOS Technical Working Groups (European Observatory for ICT Standardisation) chairs and members for the investment in gathering expertise and producing outstanding landscape reports of the standardisation status across different ICT sectors. We warmly thank the TWG chairs guiding this work: Lindsay Frost, Ismael Arribas, Matthias Pocs, Dimosthenis Kyriazis, Jeroen Broekhuijsen, Joel Meyers and Fiona Delaney.


StandICT_eu-Report of_TWG_Smart_Cities- Landscape_of_Smart_Cities_Standards.pd (1).pdf

Additional details

Funding 2023 – ICT Standardisation Observatory and Support Facility in Europe 951972
European Commission