Austrian EOSC Mandated Organisation



First General Assembly 13th October 2021

Welcome

Welcome and moderation:

- Stefan Hanslik, Austrian EOSC Steering Board Delegate and
- Paolo Budroni, Coordinator Austrian EOSC Mandated Organisation



Rules of participation

The whole session will be recorded – we will also prepare minutes, that will be publicly available

Rules of participation for the virtual online session

- Please raise your hand (*raise the hand button*) if you want to have the "floor" or just ask to talk
- Please use the chat function, if you want to comment "on the fly"
- When you have the "floor", you do not have to rush while speaking, but please be concise, you can have the "floor" more than one time



Agenda of the first General Assembly of the Austrian EOSC Mandated Organisation

- Welcome and moderation
- Keynotes
- Elections
- Other Business
- Closing Remarks

Eosc Solution

Keynotes

Stefan Hanslik, Austrian EOSC Steering Board Delegate

Keynotes:

•

•

- Jean-Claude Burgelman, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
- Bart Dumolyn, Belgian EOSC Steering Board Delegate
- Suzanne Dumouchel, Board of Directors, EOSC Association

5

Jean-Claude Burgelman

Jean-Claude Burgelman is professor of Open Science Policies and Practices at the Free University of Brussels; Faculty of Social Science and Solvay Business School. He retired on 1-3-2020 from the European Commission as Open Access Envoy and head of unit Open Science at DG RTD. He and his team developed, since 2014, the EC's polices on open science, the science cloud, open data and access.

He joined the European Commission in 1999 as a Visiting Scientist in the Joint Research Centre (the Institute of Prospective Technological Studies - IPTS), where he became Head of the Information Society Unit. In January 2008, he moved to the Bureau of European Policy Advisers (attached to the president of the EC) as adviser for innovation policy. Since 1-10-2008, he joined DG RTD, as advisor and then Head of Unit in charge of top level advisory boards like the European Research and Innovation Area Board, the Innovation for Growth Group and the European Forum for Forward Looking Activities.

Till 2000 he was full professor of communication technology policy at the Free University of Brussels, as well as director of its Centre for Studies on Media, Information and Telecommunication and was involved in science and technology assessment. He has been visiting professor at the University of Antwerp, the European College of Bruges and the University of South Africa and sits on several academic journals. He chaired the World Economic Forum's Global Agenda Council on Innovation and was a member of its Science Advisory Committee.

He recently joined the Board of Directors of DONA and became the editor in chief of Frontiers Policy Lab.

JC BURGELMAN - Professor Open Science - Ed in Chief Frontiers Policy Labs - <u>https://policylabs.frontiersin.org</u>

Bart Dumolyn

Bart Dumolyn in the Belgian delegate for the EOSC Steering Board. He is a policy advisor for the Flemish Government on Open Science. Bart was involved in the drafting of the UNESCO Recommendation on Open Science and the OECD Recommendation on Access to Research Data from Public Funding.



Bart Dumolyn Adviseur / Policy Advisor Belgian EOSC Steering Board delegate Secretaris Flemish Open Science Board (FOSB) Vlaamse overheid / Flemish Authorities

Suzanne Dumouchel

Suzanne Dumouchel, EOSC Association, member of Board of Directors.

PhD in French literature, is a research engineer at the CNRS. She works in the Huma-Num unit, an infrastructure for digital humanities. She leads the European project TRIPLE which aims to develop a platform for data discovery, research projects and researchers in SSH with which various innovative services are associated. She is co-coordinator of the European infrastructure OPERAS, in charge of strategic partnerships, dedicated to open access scholarly communication in the field of SSH. Member of the EOSC Board of Directors for 3 years, she is strongly committed to the Open Science movement. She is interested, among others, in research infrastructures, innovative technologies such as the blockchain, in questions and issues related to citizen science, or in the epistemology of digital humanities.

Suzanne Dumouchel Head of European Cooperation TGIR Huma-Num (CNRS) Partnerships Coordinator of OPERAS AISBL Member of the EOSC Association Board of Directors

Elections

Election Committee, chaired by : Chris Schubert (TU Wien), Ilire Hasani-Mavriqi (TU Graz), Heimo Rainer (NHM), Raman Ganguly (UNIVIE)

New election of the organs and acceptance of the function of:

- Chair of the General Assembly (1st and 2nd Chair)
- Members of the Steering Committee
- Election of the Coordinator and the Deputy Coordinator of the Steering Committee
- Election of the members of the Management/Management Board
- Election of the Chair of the Management Board
- Election of the Coordination of the EOSC Café
- Election of the spokespersons of the Synergy Team

Candidates

First Chair of the General Assembly	Paolo Budroni
Second Chair of the General Assembly	Maria Seissl
Members of the Steering Committee	Josef Eberhardsteiner, Claudia von der Linden, Christopher Lindinger, Roland Maier, Chris Schubert, Katrin Vohland
Coordinator of Steering Committee Deputy Coordinator of Steering Committee	Katrin Vohland Claudia von der Linden
Members of Management Board	llire Hasani-Mavriqi, Heimo Rainer, Tereza Kalová
First Chair of Management Board (Coordinator)	TU Graz, represented by Ilire Hasani-Mavriqi
Second Chair of Management Board	NHM, represented by Heimo Rainer
Third Chair of Management Board	Universität Wien, represented by Tereza Kalová
Fourth Chair of Management Board	N.N.
Coordinator of EOSC Cafés	Stefan Hanslik
Spokespersons of Synergy Team	Barbara Sánchez Solís Susanne Blumesberger Claire Jean-Quartier

10

Election

- Election •
- Acceptance of the vote •





Presentation of the coordinators of the Working Groups

Paolo Budroni

Austria Country Report: Barbara Sánchez Solís Key Performance Indicators: Katrin Vohland, Beate Guba Researcher Engagement in Austria: Katharina Flicker Data Stewardship: Ilire Hasani-Mavriqi **Collections: Heimo Rainer** Stakeholder Engagement: Raman Ganguly **Technical Infrastructure: Claire Jean-Quartier** Training: Susanne Blumesberger

Other business

Paolo Budroni

- In the case of motions/applications: vote (to be listed in detail)
- Miscellaneous / interventions from the members



Closing remarks

Closing remarks by:

- Coordinator and Deputy Coordinator of the Steering Committee
- First Chair of Management Board (Coordinator)
- Chairs of the GA: 2nd Chair, 1st Chair

