Published August 1, 2021 | Version v1
Journal article Open

Experimental evaluation of control and monitoring protocols for optical SDN networks and equipment [Invited Tutorial]

  • 1. Centre Tecnològic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya (CTTC)
  • 2. KDDI Research Inc


This paper presents an experimental evaluation of network protocols for control and management of optical networks and optical network equipment as seen in current trends. This paper presents the YANG data modeling language and its associated RESTCONF/NETCONF protocols. Later, it details multiple data models used in optical networks, such as IETF TEAS, ONF Transport API, OpenROADM, and OpenConfig. It also presents multiple protocols for telemetry (i.e., YANG PUSH, gRPC, and gNMI). Later, a zero-touch SDN controller architecture for multiple standard-defining organizations (SDOs) is presented, to support the usage of multiple protocols in a zero-touch optical network. Finally, the presented protocol implementations are experimentally evaluated and compared in terms of latency and overhead. The paper explores the use of these protocols (e.g., in research, demonstrations, and open-source optical networking projects) and provides results and recommendations for their integration in equipment and networks.


Grant numbers : AURORAS - Autonomic and disaggregated optical networks leveraging edge computing and photonic technologies (RTI2018-099178-B-I00) project.© 2021 IEEE. Personal use of this material is permitted. Permission from IEEE must be obtained for all other uses, in any current or future media, including reprinting/republishing this material for advertising or promotional purposes, creating new collective works, for resale or redistribution to servers or lists, or reuse of any copyrighted component of this work in other works.


Experimental Evaluation of Control.pdf

Files (438.8 kB)

Name Size Download all
438.8 kB Preview Download

Additional details


INSPIRE-5Gplus – INtelligent Security and PervasIve tRust for 5G and Beyond 871808
European Commission