rotation of a drum to which the outer ends of both were fastened. These spools were geared so as to make the same number of revolutions, but on account of the different thicknesses of the two materials, the diameters of the two rolls would be or would soon become different, and unequal lengths of the two materials would be drawn off in the same time. In the course of the rotation, the two sheets were drawn under a succession of scrapers spanning the exposure opening, the scrapers serving to smooth out the sheets and to force them into printing contact. The machine seems to have been devised especially for printing by daylight alone and appears never to have been brought into practice. The Rondinella machine of 1901 is the next on the record, and the first to meet the practical requirements of the occasion. It has been followed by several others, most of them utilizing a rotating drum on which to effect the exposures, but manifestly retains its leading place as an efficient solution of the problem.

In view of the scientific accuracy and mechanical thoroughness and simplicity with which all the various requirements of the process of continuous photo-printing have been fulfilled in this machine, the Franklin Institute recommends the award of the John Scott Legacy Premium and Medal to the inventor, Prof. Lino F. Rondinella, of Philadelphia, Pa.

Attest, Wm. H. Wahl, Sec'y.

Adopted June 7, 1905.

Sections.

MECHANICAL AND ENGINEERING SECTION. Stated Meeting, held Thursday, November 16, 8 P.M. Mr. James Christie in the chair. Present, thirty members and visitors.

Prof. H. W. Spangler read an illustrated paper describing some experiments on heating the Dormitories of the University of Pennsylvania.

Mr. Arthur Falkenau followed with some Notes on the Use of Materials in Hydraulic Machinery.

Both papers were freely discussed. The meeting passed a vote of thanks to the speakers of the evening and adjourned.

Francis Head, Sec'y.

Section of Mining and Metallurgy. Stated Meeting, held Thursday,' November 23, 8 P.M. Prof. A. E. Outerbridge, Jr., in the chair. Present, thirty-seven members and visitors.

The chairman introduced Mr. Clifford Richardson, of New York, who

presented an interesting and instructive communication on the Constitution of Portland Cement.

The paper was discussed by Mr. Robt. W. Lesley, Dr. W. J. Williams. Dr. Wm. H. Wahl and the author.

The thanks of the meeting were voted to the speaker of the evening. Adjourned.

WM. H. WAHL, Sec'y pro tem.

Franklin Institute.

Proceedings of the Stated Meeting held Wednesday, December 20, 1905.

HALL OF THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE, Philadelphia, December 20, 1905.

President JOHN BERKINBINE in the chair.

Present, fifty-two members and visitors.

Additions to membership since last month, fifteen.

The Secretary presented the resignation from the Board of Managers and the Committee on Science and the Arts, of Dr. Coleman Sellers. Mr. H. R. Heyl, Mr. L. E. Levy, the President and the Secretary referred in complimentary terms to the long and eminent service which Dr. Sellers had rendered to the Institute during his long association with it; whereupon the following resolution, offered by Vice-President Washington Jones, and seconded by H. R. Heyl, was unanimously adopted:

Resolved, That the Franklin Institute in accepting the resignation of Dr. Coleman Sellers from membership on the Board of Managers, the Committee on Science and the Arts, and the Committee on Publications, directs that a minute be entered on its records expressive of its high appreciation of, and grateful thanks for his long and valued services to the Institute, as President, manager and committeeman.

The Secretary was directed to transmit a copy of this resolution to Dr. Sellers.

The following nominations were then presented for officers, managers and committeemen to be voted for at the annual election, to be held on Wednesday, January 17th, 1906, viz.:

For President	(to serv	e one year) John Birkinbine.
" Vice-President	("	three years)JAMES M. DODGE.
" Secretary	("	one year) Wm. H. Wahl.
" Treasurer	("	")Samuel Sartain.
" Auditor	("	three years)W. O. GRIGGS.
* Auditor	("	one year)

For Managers (to serve three years).

CYRUS BORGNER, JAWOOD LUKENS,
JAMES CHRISTIE, LAWRENCE T. PAUL,
PERSIFOR FRAZER, HORACE PETTIT,
HARRY W. JAYNE, OTTO C. WOLF,

WM. H. LAMBERT (to serve for two years).